Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts
OP Offline
brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts

I actually thought of two ways to answer this.

What series or issues or other items do you treasure the most in your collection?

Or alternately and at least as interesting, what items did you struggle most to find and purchase to add to your collection? What are the rarest and hardest to find items you have?
What item did you search years for, and maybe not yet found?

brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts
OP Offline
brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts

I've been collecting since 1972, and one of the most sought-after hard to find items for me was the KIRBY UNLEASHED portfolio, advertised in most 1972 DC books. I finally found and purchased a perfect mint copy of it by mail order (in the waning days of the pre-internet period) in 1996 for $50.00.

Two Morrows reprinted it with additional material about 10 years ago, and I purchased that version too, and for purposes of keeping my original intact, usually flip through the Two Morrows version. Honestly, except for the cover, it doesn't live up as well to expectations as the superior JACK KIRBY: MASTERWORKS portfolio from 1978, which shows a lot more reproduced 60's and 70's unpublished covers and pages by Kirby. KIRBY UNLEASHED has a greater ratio of Golden Age Kirby material.

brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts
OP Offline
brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts

Another extremely rare item I got on Ebay in 2006 is a limited edition Jack Kirby "Jacob Wrestles an Angel" sculpture.

I still have it on display, and got it for an incredible $20.00 !

It was originally advertised in COMICS JOURNAL 134, Feb 1990. I tried to pre-order it, but was told by my comic shop owner later that the sculptures were flawed and all were destroyed, unreleased. What a lucky find, so many years later!

brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts
OP Offline
brutally Kamphausened
15000+ posts